Large Hadron Collider (LHC)

The LHC consists of a 27-kilometre ring of superconducting magnets with a number of accelerating structures to boost the energy of the particles along the way.

Further information can be found here:


ATLAS, CMS, ALICE and LHCb are LHC’s four main detectors. Three smaller detectors also exist in the LHC and are used for more specific research: TOTEM, MoEDAL and LHCf.


Data taking commenced in 2008, and permitted the discovery of the Higgs boson, which was announced on 4 July 2012 by ATLAS and CMS experiments.

A High-Luminosity upgrade is foreseen - details can be found here: